News

APPLY NOW: Life Sciences Start-Up Competition

Published on Friday, September 09, 2016

startup-2016-logo-comp

Brought to you by the Life Sciences Institute and e@UBC

We challenge you to innovate! Design a plan for translation of your idea into product.

To keep you educated and motivated we have:

  • $10,000 in CASH Prizes
  • Free workshops on intellectual property, business plans & fundraising
  • Talks by successful Life Sciences entrepreneurs
  • Industry leaders and experts who will mentor the teams

Competition Timeline:

  • Deadline to register to participate: November 30 2016
  • Deadline to submit business plans: Monday February 13, 2017
  • Competition: February 23, 2017, 3-5 pm

More details soon to come. For now, take advantage of the free workshops that we’ve lined up for you. Everyone can attend, whether or not you plan to take part in the competition.

Workshops:

Resources for Entrepreneurs in Vancouver – Overview of Training Programs and Competitions
Monday, September 19, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 3

Competitive Landscape
Monday, October 3, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Drug Development 101
Wednesday, October 5, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

IP – Types of Patents, Overview
Wednesday, October 19, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Business 101
Wednesday, November 2, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Business Model Canvas
Monday, November 7, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Business Plan
Wednesday, November 16, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Grants and Tax Credits
Monday, November 21, 2016, noon – 2 pm, LSC 3

Funding 101
Wednesday, November 30, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

IP – Working with the UILO
Monday, December 5, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330